+353 876 220 788

EIG Recommends

Bambidress - Made to order quality dresses


10% DISCOUNT if you
mention EIG or using
Promo Code EIG10

pay with Master Card
pay with VISA
pay with PayPal
Fedex courier service

Castlebar - Mayo - Main St

circa 1910

County: Mayo, Town: Castlebar, Scene: Main St, Date: 1915 (estimate, )Digitally remastered


* Options may affect the price/weight of an article
Choose Quantity:

Price:  *

* Made to Order, will ship 5 to 10 business days after purchase

Photo Details

  • County: Mayo
  • Town: Castlebar
  • Scene: Main St
  • Date: circa 1905


  • Digitally remastered
  • 10' x 8' printed on quality photo paper, larger sizes also available
  • Also available mounted & framed, ask for details
  • Colour images can be printed in black & white if preferred
  • Read about Castlebar below


Castlebar (Irish: Caisleán an Bharraigh) is the county town of, and at the centre of, County Mayo, Ireland. A campus of Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology and the Country Life section of the National Museum of Ireland are two important local amenities. The town is connected by railway to Dublin and the neighbouring Mayo towns of Westport and Ballina. The county town has several small suburbs, such as Breaffy. The main route by road is the N5. Its economy is primarily service based. The population at the 2006 census was 15,041 (including rural area).


The modern town grew up as a settlement around the de Barry castle in the 11th century and was later the site of an English garrison. A military barracks operates in the town to this day. Armed conflict has been the centrepiece of the town's historical heritage. French forces under the command of General Humbert aided in a rout of the English garrison in the town during the failed Irish Rebellion of 1798. This was so comprehensive that it would be known as 'The Races of Castlebar'. A shortlived provisional Republic of Connaught was declared following the victory and John Moore, head of the Mayo United Irishmen and the brother of a local landowner, was declared its president. His remains are today interred in a corner of the town green, known as the Mall. The town received its charter from King James I in 1613 and is today governed by an urban district council, a subdivision of Mayo County Council.


Castlebar is the location for important festivals and traditions, among which is the International Four Days Walk. A well-established blues music festival in venues across the town takes place on the weekend before the first Monday in June each year and the The Linenhall Arts Centre exhibits throughout the year. Throughout the 1980s and 1990s, Castlebar experienced unprecedented growth and investment.


The local Gaelic football and hurling team is the Castlebar Mitchels and Islandeady GAA club. They are a club with a proud and illustrious past including 2 Mayo football championship victories. After a couple of years in the doldrums the club regained its place amongst Mayo's elite senior football clubs in 2005. The club boasts a very strong underage hurling structure. McHale Park located in Castlebar is one of the major Gaelic Athletic Association grounds in Connacht with a capacity of 36,000. The Mayo County board has recently submitted a planning application to increase the capacity to 41,000, which includes a whole new stand to replace the existing one (with dressing rooms and offices underneath) and adding fifteen extra rows of seat to the 'Albany' end. Further development will also lead to the knocking of the press area on the McHale road side and replacing it with a modern press area and TV stand. The local soccer team is Snugboro United. They currently have a team playing in the Mayo Super League. In addition to this they have a thriving underage structure in place. They play their home games in Conway Park which is named after one of the founding committee members Edward Conway.


Castlebar is the birthplace of:

  • Louis Brennan, inventor
  • Margaret Burke-Sheridan, opera singer
  • Padraig Flynn, former European Commissioner
  • Charles Haughey, former Taoiseach
  • Enda Kenny, leader of Fine Gael
  • Archbishop John McHale, Archbishop of Tuam, Irish independence leader